Eye candy installment #1… Clicking makes them HUGE!

This was my first view of L.A. Zillions of people just living out their lives

This was my first view of L.A. Zillions of people just living out their lives

Went exploring my first day here, on the way to pick up the craigslist bike. I am beginning to understand why so many people want to live here.

Went exploring my first day here, on the way to pick up the craigslist bike. I am beginning to understand why so many people want to live here.

I get the feeling I am in for some sparkling mornings. All I need is a coffee maker now

I get the feeling I am in for some sparkling mornings. All I need is a coffee maker now

People can't stop staring at my sweet ride.

People can’t stop staring at my sweet ride.

Felt like a total tourist, but took the picture anyway. Cool new building smack dab in the middle of campus, with the mountains keeping watch.

Felt like a total tourist, but took the picture anyway. Cool new building smack dab in the middle of campus, with the mountains keeping watch.

That's what killed the second Terminator. I will try not to knock it over.

That’s what killed the second Terminator. I will try not to knock it over.

Picasso? Renoir? Nope, fooled you. Stuff like this is hanging everywhere around JPL. There is so much beauty to be seen out there in the universe. That humans have learned to build instruments that pierce the veil of the night and reveal it to us is pretty amazing.

Picasso? Renoir? Nope, fooled you. Stuff like this is hanging everywhere around JPL. There is so much beauty to be seen out there in the universe. That humans have learned to build instruments that pierce the veil of the night and reveal it to us is pretty amazing.

Let that sink in.

Let that sink in.

Another of the beautiful images captured and displayed at JPL.

Another of the beautiful images captured and displayed at JPL.

This was a slide from the Greenland Ice Melt talk given by the illustrious and humble Dr. Son V. Nghiem.

This was a slide from the Greenland Ice Melt talk given by the illustrious and humble Dr. Son V. Nghiem.

Final slide from Son Nghiem's talk. Time to step it up, humanity.

Final slide from Son Nghiem’s talk. Time to step it up, humanity.

As a lab intern, my job will be to untangle the hyperconfabulator.

As a lab intern, my job will be to untangle the hyperconfabulator.

Scaled-down model of some craziness that is orbiting us at this very moment.

Scaled-down model of some craziness that is orbiting us at this very moment. *Edit 6/29/14: Actually not at THIS very moment, but at many future moments after its scheduled launch later this year. Also, SMAP.

In case you were puzzled by the acronym...

In case you were puzzled by the acronym…

On the drive home from JPL. Befriending the owner of this house would no doubt entangle me in a sordid world of intrigue and unhappiness.

On the drive home from JPL. Befriending the owner of this house would no doubt entangle me in a sordid world of intrigue and unhappiness.

There are more than 50 other JPL interns staying at the WCIU dorms. Although quiet hours are technically between 10PM and 8AM, in reality they begin around midnightish.

There are more than 50 other JPL interns staying at the WCIU dorms. Although quiet hours are technically between 10PM and 8AM, in reality they begin around midnightish.

Leave a Reply

